Getting Used to an Insulin Pump

Tired

Tired Out

Having A Nap

Okay so it’s partly my own fault, the last couple of Sunday’s I’ve been going out (at 9pm) to an open mic’ night with the guy who lives next door to me, this has meant that I’ve got home both times at something close to midnight, which is way past my bedtime! As well as that I’ve had quite a few busy days at work due to colleagues being off and the surprising number of spam e-mails that seem to be circulating at the moment.

In any case I’m feeling a bit run down, of course  that’s not unusual at this time of year, I’m sure we’ve all heard of SAD (Seasonal Affective Disorder in case you haven’t) and of course the nights are drawing in and the temperature has plummeted.

However it’s only really the past year or so that I’ve become more acutely aware of the effect that the temperature and other factors have on my diabetes, and it’s definitely the first time I’ve been connected to a pump when the seasons have changed so dramatically so I’m wondering whether there will be anything different I need to do?!

Should I re-do all my basal rate tests to see if the base rate I am having throughout the day needs changing, or if my bosul needs will go up or down when I eat. I guess like everything else it is just a case of living it and seeing what happens as I do. I guess if I seem to be having a lot of hypos or high blood sugars then I may need to adjust but until that happens I should probably just keep on keeping on!

Leave a Reply

