Getting Used to an Insulin Pump

HbA1C

If you are Diabetic then you’ll probably know what an HbA1C test is, if not then I’ll tell you now.

Haemoglobin

Haemoglobin

HbA1C is a test which looks at the amount of Glycated Haemoglobin in your blood and returns a result which gives you an average blood sugar reading over a number of months.

As far as I have been able to figure out the way it works is that when your body creates red blood cells they contain the amount of carbohydrate that your body has in it at the moment they were formed. Because red blood cells have a lifespan of around three months it means that a sample of your red blood cells will always tell you what the average reading has been over the last three months or so!

For a Diabetic this is obviously important, the closer we can get to normal (between four and eight) the better our long term prospects will be, health wise!

Anyway I went to have a blood test a couple of weeks back in order that my results would be ready in time for my doctors appointment on Monday of this week. I went along quite excited but unsure of what to expect because it is the first blood test I’ve had since really understanding how the Insulin Pump works and how best to use it. It was my first visit to the consultant since getting the pump so that was also a bit nerve racking.

It was quite a good meeting, I asked a few questions and we discussed how it’s been going and then she let me know what my result was.

6.9mmol/l

I was amazed, this is the lowest I’ve ever had so obviously something is working 🙂

Comments on: "HbA1C" (1)

  1. Hello! Do you know if they make any plugins to safeguard against hackers?
    I’m kinda paranoid about losing everything I’ve worked hard on.
    Any suggestions?

Leave a Reply

