Getting Used to an Insulin Pump

Feeling Better

12 Jelly Babies

12 Jelly Babies

Got to dinner time on Wednesday and was 2.1mmol/l…which is obviously low so it was at that point that I stopped giving myself extra basal insulin and the illness setting!

Thursday went pretty well, admittedly I woke up a bit high in the morning and my next blood test after that but after that I was between 5.8 and 7.6 for the rest of the day, including after volleyball, once again I didn’t try adjusting what I had with dinner I just ate 12 jelly babies over the course of the session and that seemed to do me fine!

I did however use the exercise setting when  got home and had supper, I normally have about 8.2 units for supper, my adjustment dose was -0.1 and the exercise setting removed another 2.4 units of insulin, I did this because I have woken up a few times after volleyball with blood sugar verging on the low side.

So I woke up this morning and did my blood test and I was…

13.7!

Hmmm, back to the drawing board I think.

Leave a Reply

