Getting Used to an Insulin Pump

Stress and Illness

A Virus

A virus, like the Little 'Un and I have had!

The weekend didn’t go exactly as I hoped! The Little ‘Un was acting out of character on Saturday, crying a lot and being off his food where generally he is the happiest baby I know and likes to eat everything you give him. We kept him up late and he kind of slept on Deanne until the end of Dr Who at which point we took his temperature again and the thermometer had changed to amber from green suggesting that his temperature was up.

So Deanne and I took him to QMC, getting there at about 8pm and got him looked at! After a few tests and some questions they said they thought he had a virus and just to keep him dosed up on Calpol and Baby Nurofen and to keep him undressed as much as possible to keep him from getting too warm. We arrived home again after midnight, tired and slightly terrified but frankly happy that it wasn’t anything worse.

We spent most of Sunday relaxing together and making sure he was okay.

My blood sugars through this weren’t too bad but they started going up from when I woke up on Monday. Deanne suggested that it may have been stress but I thought this was a bit odd as usually stress induces low blood sugar for me, I didn’t do anything about it until I had spent most of Tuesday being high as well, at dinner time on Tuesday I told my monitor that I was ill and it gave me an extra 1.3 units of insulin on top of the 6.4 I was getting for dinner and an adjustment dose. This appeared to have the desired affect because when I did a blood test at ten ‘o clock I was 7.8 which is still a bit high but not too bad.

I spent most of last night in bed from about 19:30 as I was just too worn out to cope with being up. I guess this may have been a mixture of actually being ill as well as the stress from Saturday and Sunday on top ot it.

Anyway, this morning I was 18.3 mmol/l so I gave myself another illness setting but then at 10:19 decided that I’d also wind up my basal rate by 10%, which I have kept up ever since and have finally got back to more or less normal again the last three tests I have done getting a 4.6, a 5.4 and a 5.8. I think I will continue along this vein for the rest of the day and hopefully will have fought off whatever the virus is by tomorrow. I’ll let you know how it goes!

Leave a Reply

