Getting Used to an Insulin Pump

Mine’s A Pint

A Pint

Mine's A Pint

What a long weekend that seemed!

Volleyball on Thursday night went okay, I had two Bounty bars (about 33 grams of CHO each) and that seemed to very nicely get me through volleyball, coming out the other side with a BM of 4.9mmol/l, it stayed exactly the same between my post practice blood test at 21:59 and the test I did before I ate at 22:10, which mildly surprised me!

Friday was a bit stressful as I had to mosey over to Clifton to try and sort out some problems people have been having with some new software that I’m helping get installed on peoples’ laptops around the University. I finished work at 16:30 which is admittedly when I should (but rarely wait so long to) finish work on a Friday but usually I jump on a bus straight home whereas this time I had to get to town first.

However Deanne and the Little ‘Un decided they would meet me there and we could have a drink somewhere so we did, which was nice, then we had to go home (which took longer than normal due to some roadworks), feed ourselves, put the boy to bed and then I had to get ready to go out.

Went out with four of the guys from my NCT “having a baby” class, we’ve known each other for about 18 months and occasionally go out on the town together. Suffice to say that I probably drunk more than I should have and woke up the next day feeling a bit ropey, however I failed to write down any of my blood tests for that night so have no idea what my blood sugar did 😛

Saturday morning I was 16mmol/l which is kind of high, however I came to believe that I actually had something wrong with me (e.g a cold rather than a hangover) later that day ’cause I had difficulty bringing my blood sugar down all day long.

Went shopping in the afternoon and the three of us ran around town and then home for a late dinner at which my BM was 18.2mmol/l 😦

Sunday was better, started off a bit high but soon brung it down and spent most of the day within reasonable limits, even though we were doing some gardening, but the garden looks nice now.

Today I’m still sorting out software problems at work so have been back and forth to see various users in various different buildings, however blood sugar seems to be back on usual form with relatively good control most of the day then dropping in the late afternoon so I might do a fasting BM tomorrow afternoon to try and get back on track to sorting out my basal units again after a bit of a break.

Leave a Reply

