Getting Used to an Insulin Pump

Infusion Set Fun

Infusion Set Drawing

A Drawing of an Infusion Set

Well I changed my infusion set last night, usually I would do it just before or after supper time which would mean I wouldn’t have a couple of hours before I went to bed so couldn’t then take the used one out afterwards. So I changed it at about eight o’clock.

Things seemed fine initially I did a blood test at twenty past eight to see how it was going and I was 6.7mmol/l…all good so far. I waited until nearly half nine before I did another blood test and was mildly surprised to find out I was 2.7mmol/l. Oh dear! So I took the used infusion set out then and there and I think the next time I change it I will try leaving it in for less time after the changeover.

Todays been fine so far, no hypos and the highest result has been 9.4mmol/l so I’m feeling pretty good about that. I’m doubting it has anything to do with the infusion set change last night though because I had to have a few jelly babies and then have my supper after the blood test so goodness knows what that did to my overnight blood sugar?

Volleyball tonight so I’ll probably say something about that tomorrow, going to try keeping my mealtime dose the same as normal (e.g. not adjusting for exercise) and then eating while I’m playing again like last time.

Leave a Reply

