Getting Used to an Insulin Pump

Baby, I’m Back!

Baby, I'm Back!

Baby, I'm Back!

Well, back to Nottingham, home and work. I apologise for not posting once while I was away but frankly I was too busy not going near any computers to worry about it.

My time away from work started fairly quietly with a bit of DIY in the first week, the best part of which is that it’s pretty much all finished so I can finally relax a bit, my blood sugars were okay and for the most part I had quite a successful week, also spent some time with my boy and my wife which was nice.

Then on the Friday (thanks Dee!) we set off for Dorset and my Parents house, the drive down was pretty good and fairly quiet because there was some kind of wedding going on at the same time, it was a nice drive, the rest of Friday was spent preparing for the Little ‘Un’s party on Saturday, blowing up balloons and helping Deanne make lovely food for the next day.

Saturday came and with it my entire family (more or less) that is Mike, Lilian, Paul, Kim, Marc, Linda, Ben, Richard, Ana, Rachel, Mark, Marcel, Deanne, Joshua, Daniel (e.g. me!) Everyone either a blood or marital relation or as near as is possible without an infusion.

It was a really nice sunny day and we ate lots of food, drank quite a lot of wine and sparkling rosé and played Boules in the back garden, a good time was had by all and it went better than I could have hoped for.

After everyone had gone home and we had cleared up we got ready for our trip to Cornwall. My parents and us stayed in one of these cabins which was fantastic, visited the Eden Project and the Lost Gardens of Heligan which were both pretty spectacular. My control was a bit up and down, I’m sure you’ll know what that’s like as I can’t be the only one that has issues on holiday when eating unusual food at strange times.

However the worst thing was that I had a catastrophic failure of my infusion set…probably my own fault…but a pain non-the-less.

The chalet we were staying in had a hot tub, which was nice, but I changed my infusion set pretty much on the first evening we arrived. Everything seemed okay but on the last day I should have had it in my blood sugars started rising, I just thought I’d been eating too much so ignored it but then at supper time I wound up the correct dose, hit the confirm button and as the insulin started going in to me it started coming out of the bottom of the sticky plaster that holds the pump on to me.

The reason I mentioned the hot tub is that I believe what happened was that the hot water in the tub affected the sticky plaster over the three or four times I went in it while using the same infusion set/cannulla and therefore it had come loose and come off me enough for the insulin to leak out.

What this actually meant was that I didn’t get my full dose of insulin and at the same time had absolutely no idea how much insulin I had received! Suffice to say the next day my BG was a little high in the morning.

What I should probably have done is waited up a couple of hours and done another blood test to see how I was but it had been a tiring and difficult few days and we had to leave early in the morning so I did not!

Anyway now I’m home I’m hoping that my BGs are going to get back to normal and stop being quite so up (mainly) and down.

Comments on: "Baby, I’m Back!" (2)

  1. Thanks for that Sweetie, I’ve changed it now 🙂

  2. It was Friday we drove down, Royal Wedding Day, and Saturday was the party. You were there, weren’t you? 😛

Leave a Reply

