Getting Used to an Insulin Pump

A Bat

A Bat

Sorry if they were helping you to keep track but after Ben commented last week that he thought a blood test monitor didn’t even go up to 42 I have decided to stop using the numbers at the start of each post 😉

Friday night was fairly quiet, Deanne was out at Nottingham University attending a talk on bats, which meant I had the night in on my own so I did a bit of house tidying and a bit of painting. probably not the most exciting evening but my control was fine and it meant I had something to do for the night.

Saturday however was a different matter, had a fairly late morning only getting up at 8am, we went for a drive round some furniture shops to try and find a wardrobe for the Little-‘Un’s bedroom, found a suitable candidate but it was obviously pretty hard work ’cause I was low by half twelve. had some friends round in the afternoon so mainly just sat around chatting and playing with the babies.

In the evening however I went along to the Nottingham Type 1 Diabetes Group night out at Fat Cat’s bar in Nottingham. It was a good night and a lot of people came along, it was nice to meet everyone and have a night talking about all things Diabetes related including pumps, injections, hypos, and many other things too diverse to mention. If you didn’t make it then you missed an interesting evening.

It did however mean that I had a number of beers, which I haven’t done since starting the pump, unlike the wine I normally drink beer does actually contain carbohydrates which meant that when I did a blood test at half eleven my blood sugar had gone up to 10mmol/l, not hugely high but higher than it should have been, therefore as a future note to self “if I’m drinking beer I need to do more blood tests”!

Went home and had supper and was fine but when I got up the next morning I was low at 2.5mmol/l so apparently when I adjusted at near midnight I hadn’t taken in to account the drop that invariably comes after drinking. Oops!

Sunday was mostly spent tidying the shed in our back garden. The best bit of which was that I actually finished doing it and now have a useable space in which we can find things when we need them and keep things while we don’t. Was quite pleased with myself as I managed to only go low once while I was doing the thinking/physical exercise that the job involved, survived by eating occasional packets of crisps and having the odd chocolate cookie with an exercise adjustment.

Tonight I have a volleyball match which I’m hoping I’m going to manage better than the one I had last week but only time will tell.

Leave a Reply

