Getting Used to an Insulin Pump

Don't Panic

Don't Panic

Well that was wierd. I was suspecting my last couple of blood tests to head swiftly downwards yesterday afternoon but the last one had gone up from the relatively stable 6 or 7 that the earlier ones had been by nine mmol/l and I ended up on the last one at 15.0???

I do however think this is an abberation and so will be doing another afternoon fasting test before I think about adjusting my basal rate for the afternoons.

The volleyball match was okay but I only played one set and hideously overcompensated for my previous few sessions undereating and ended up pretty high (shouldn’t have mixed the jelly babies and fanta tropical drink!) but at least I know what I have to do now, it’s just a case of getting the doses of carbohydrates right for the amount of exercise I do.

Today has been okay although I had a bit of a low patch between 9am and 1pm but have been fine since.

Apart from that I have promised myself that I am going to stop swearing. I’m trying to go cold turkey but it’s actually a lot harder than it seems when you’ve worked in engineering and IT in your career. Some of the guys I knew in engineering used to know words that I didn’t even recognise or understand and had to look them up or ask someone else afterwards. These were then of course written in to my vocabulary and have been in common usage by me ever since.

I doubt this will affect my control but you never know, perhaps I’ll be more relaxed!

Comments on: "Forty Two – Don’t Panic…" (2)

  1. Dan, I’ve only just seen your blog & read the bit about exercise. We did a group pump session about “the pump and exercise” and I think some notes were typed up from that meeting for us all to take away & refer to. Ask Clare (nurse) or Sarah (dietician) next time your’e at dundee house. Keep up the good work πŸ™‚ see you saturday??? Sharon

    • Thanks for that Sharon, I’ll try and remember to ask them when I’m in for an EDWARD review in a few weeks time.

      See you on Saturday πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

