Getting Used to an Insulin Pump

Two Weeks and Counting

Dundee House at City Hospital

Dundee House at City Hospital

I’ve now had the pump attached to me for two weeks, although it feels like no time at all! I’m guessing the main thing I should talk about today is my fasting blood glucose tests but first of all I’d like to make a small apology!

Anyone who has been reading this since I started will have seen the post entitled “Days 5, 6, 7 and 8”, which was about my weekend away in Dorset, at the start of which I suggested that the team at the Diabetes Unit at Dundee House had given me some advice which I failed to take any notice of! Firstly I didn’t actually fail to take any notice of the advice and secondly the advice they give tends to be more suggestions which more or less tell you that you know best and so I would like to say sorry to Clare and the other ladies if I have been writing untruths. You guys are the best.

Okay, back to me (my favourite subject!!!)…

…I got myself all prepared last night to miss supper and wake myself up every couple of hours in order to do blood tests. As the time drew near I started thinking “I’m quite hungry”, which I should have taken as a sign really! I did my first blood test at 10pm and I was 2.2mmol/l which obviously meant that I had to knock the whole thing on the head as I had to have some Dextrose which would of invalidated the whole thing.

So I got up this morning and decided that I’d do it then instead, this meant I missed breakfast (the most important meal of the day) and did a blood test every hour from 7am until 1pm. My blood glucose stayed around five until 10am then I got up to nearly seven, then had three nines!

I called Clare at the Diabetes Unit this afternoon and she has given me some advice about altering my doses (thanks very much, again) and so I need to have a fiddle with my basal dose before tomorrow morning and see what happens over the next couple of days.

The whole fasting process wasn’t as painful as I thought it might be and the results are interesting. I’ll be interested to see what effect changing my basal doses actually has on my control and of course I’ll update you as and when I have any news on this!

Leave a Reply

