Getting Used to an Insulin Pump

Three Weeks

Uurgh Blood

Uurgh Blood

Once again I had planned to eat nothing at lunch time and do blood tests throughout the afternoon and once more I was foiled by a low at my second blood test. On the bright side I got to have a tasty chocolate bar and a quiche from Boots for lunch!

I realised the last few days that I was relying a bit too heavily on the things I had read and the advice that I have been given (good as that advice is) and have been totally failing to listen to the person that knows my diabetes best, yep, you’ve guessed it, me!!! I have been doing everything by the book and not actually thinking about things with my sensible head on.

So the last day or two I have been looking at the food I’m eating and using best guess as a method of carbohydrate counting. Although I know that I occasionally get it wrong this way 90% of the time I do a better job of guessing than when I actually measure food out. I have also been thinking about my basal rate, as evidenced by the playing around I did at the weekend with Temporary Basal Rates while I was DIYing, I may need a few more attempts before I get them right but frankly I did better with my finger in the air method than I have with my ‘looking through the book’ attempts so far.

Anyway, once more I have failed to do my afternoon fasting blood glucoses and so I think I may try again tomorrow but instead of having extra breakfast I might just have my normal breakfast and spend the afternoon hungry, Although Toast and then Bran Flakes are definitely filling I have a suspicion that Bran Flakes do something odd to me (not like that, stop giggling at the back) and mean that my blood sugar takes a dive around midday, which is obviously when I start the blood tests.

So will attempt three bear any more fruit? You’ll have to wait to find out…

Leave a Reply

