Getting Used to an Insulin Pump

Days 5, 6, 7 and 8

My Parents House

My Olds' House

Well it’s been a long few days! On Friday we headed down to Dorset to visit my parents, I drove all the way down nearly five hours which was fine but I should have taken my own advice rather than listening to the hospital and wound down a few percent because about half an hour after arriving I was low. D’oh!

Anyway the weekend went very well, something has definitely changed because normally when I’m down at my Olds’ house I run high all the time because Mum tends to have a large amount of tasty stuff in the house which I can’t help but pick at. I’m fine at home ’cause our house is generally empty of temptation but not so in sunny Dorset!

This time was different though, my bloods seemed to be hanging around the 3 to 4 side with more lows than highs, certainly different to normal and as far as I’m concerned a change for the better 🙂

The weekend was pretty good apart from the cold that I had been suffering from since last Monday finally showed itself to be some sort of nasty virus/infection and decided to give me headaches and sore throats, etc. however I kept telling the pump I was ill and it kept upping my dose and generally coping admirably to say it’s still set on all the default settings that we put in on the first day.

Came home on Sunday, I drove the first half and Deanne drove the second, the little-‘un slept for my half and pointed out the windows babbling for most of the second half (he’s 11 months old and enjoys chatting), it was less eventful than the journey down, e.g. 0 traffic jams instead of three and only took four-ish hours, got home and went to sleep.

Woke up on Monday morning and the illness had got worse so I took the day off work thinking that a day off would help me recover, mainly sat on the sofa watching movies I’d recorded over Xmas, drinking Lemsips and feeling sorry for myself, didn’t accomplish a lot, had the obligatory high and low that seem to have become an everyday occurrence at the moment but if anything felt better than I normally do when I’m ill.

Tuesday I woke up when my alarm went off but decided immediately that staying asleep would have been a better move, got up, did a blood test and had some breakfast about 9am but then went back to bed and slept for another couple of hours.

Was high near noon when I did the next blood test (should have done more but I was asleep), got up and relaxed. did a bunch of blood tests through the afternoon to try and make sure I was doing okay, the one near 5pm was at 3.8, the pum said it was going to reduce my dose by 0.7 units, ‘great’ I thought but then when dinner time came I did another test after 6 o’clock and had dropped to 1.8 – Oh dear!

So apologies for the delay in writing but at least I have a valid medical excuse this time 😛

Was high for my first two blood tests today but I suspect that may have been because I did a blood test, dialled in the carbs for two slices of sliced wholemeal toast as per the packet and then realised that we were out of bread so I had to cut a couple of slices of some bread that Dee made yesterday and toast that instead.

Apparently very thinly sliced home made white bread has a lot more carbohydrate than thick sliced bought wholemeal bread, noted for future reference!

I’ll try and keep updating now I’m back in the swing of things.

Leave a Reply

