Getting Used to an Insulin Pump

Day Fifteen

Random Banana

Random Banana

If I’m reading his updates on Alex’s status right then it looks like Jeremy might have got his pump today, that’s at least four of the committee that have them now, Jeremy, Alex, Haydn and yours truly. We’ll have to try and strong-arm the other committee members who are currently pump-less in to getting them.

I went through resetting the basal units on my pump last night as per the conversation I had with Clare at the Diabetes Unit yesterday. Now I have to wait a couple of days before I can do another lot of fasting blood glucose tests to see if I need to adjust it some more, my suspicion would be that yes, I do. But don’t hold me to that!

I now feel like I’m settling in to life with a pump, I think I’ve been through most of what it has to throw at me, some highs and some hypos, quite a few infusion set, tube and insulin changes and at least one occlusion alarm. I’m really impressed with the level of control it gives me over my basal rate and my boluses, and I also feel different, not necessarily better, just different!

However I would say that ’cause I’m just recovering from quite a bad hypo so I don’t feel altogether with it at the moment, probably not the best time to write this but hey, I’m hardly Shakespeare at the best of times so I may as well just get on and do it.

I’m quite looking forward to the next few weeks as I start to configure it specifically to deal with my daily routine and how my body processes carbohydrates from hour-to-hour, I’m also feeling pretty good about the fact that I don’t have to do injections any more, it’s such a strange feeling getting to 6pm and not having to give myself Lantus every day.

Actually now that I’m properly recovered I’ll rescind my earlier statement that I don’t feel better on it! I do actually feel like a different person and I think it’s already starting to affect my behaviour. I don’t think I realised quite how heavily my diabetes was weighing on my shoulders prior to changing on to the pump, but I’m pretty sure that I feel a lot more care-free and confident about controlling my diabetes and keeping healthy and happy now.

Of course I’m sure I’ll still have highs and lows, both blood sugar and emotional, but already Deanne has noticed that I don’t seem to get as grumpy when my blood sugar is high, and that has to be a good thing.

Sorry if this has been a bit of a random post but that’s Diabetes for you, sometimes you just can’t help your blood sugars, and what you do when they are low 😛

Leave a Reply

